Choose up to three platforms. Selections stay in this browser and can be shared through the comparison URL. Product scopes differ: a free landlord tool is not an enterprise accounting implementation.
Comparing AppFolio, Buildium, and DoorLoop.
| Research field | AppFolio | Buildium | DoorLoop |
|---|---|---|---|
| Platform overview | |||
| Corporate group | AppFolio | RealPage / Thoma Bravo | DoorLoop |
| Product category | Cloud property-management operating system | Property management for small and midsize professional portfolios | Cloud property-management platform |
| Founded / approximate age | 2006 · approximately 20 yearsCompany founding year Sources S013 | 2004 · approximately 22 yearsCompany founding; current homepage states product launch in 2008 Sources S053, S054 | 2019 · approximately 7 yearsCompany founding; software launched in 2021 Sources S073 |
| Typical customer | Professional residential and mixed-portfolio property managers | Professional managers of smaller and midsize residential portfolios | Independent landlords and growing professional property managers |
| Pricing & fees | |||
| Starting subscription | Custom quotePlan, modules & portfolio determine price · Quote-based Core, Plus and Max plans Sources S019 | From $62/moEssential starting price · portfolio-scaled · Tiered subscription, increasing with portfolio size Sources S057 | From $69/moAnnual-billed equivalent · up to 10 units · Unit-scaled Starter, Pro and Premium subscriptions; annual and monthly billing Sources S079 |
| Plans & billing basis | Current dollar rates not publicly posted; Core, Plus and Max require a sales quote | Essential from $62/month; Growth from $192/month; Premium from $400/month | Up to 10 units: annual-billed monthly equivalents Starter $69, Pro $149, Premium $209; month-to-month $99/$189/$239 |
| Minimums & commitments | Core has a 50-unit minimum and a minimum-spend condition; current dollar minimum not disclosed Sources S019 | Essential advertised starting price; actual charge depends on unit count Sources S057 | Starter for up to 10 units; $69/month equivalent when billed annually, $99 month-to-month Sources S079 |
| Screening charges | No universal screening fee verified Sources S019 | No universal screening fee verified Sources S057 | No universal screening fee verified Sources S079 |
| Payment fees | Payments, screening and other value-added services may have separate fees; obtain written quote | Incoming EFT, card, screening and electronic-signature charges vary by plan; current card rate listed at 2.99% | ACH and electronic-signature fees vary by plan; screening and merchant-account setup can add charges |
| Setup & contracts | Implementation, modules and contract terms require quote review | Onboarding required for Growth and Premium; verify portfolio-specific quote and service charges | Portfolio-dependent onboarding fee; 300+ units custom quote; temporary promotions excluded |
| Apps & access | |||
| Website / web application | Website: Yes · Web app: Yes | Website: Yes · Web app: Yes | Website: Yes · Web app: Yes |
| iOS app names | AppFolio Property Manager; Online Portal by AppFolio | Buildium; Resident Center | DoorLoop |
| Android app names | Online Portal by AppFolio (resident app verified) | Buildium; Resident Center | DoorLoop |
| Manager mobile access | AppFolio Property Manager native iOS app verified; browser application; separate resident mobile ecosystem | Buildium web app and native manager app | DoorLoop web application and native iOS/Android manager apps |
| Resident web access | Online Portal by AppFolio | Resident Center | Role-based tenant portal |
| Important app caveat | Android availability is directly verified for the resident portal; no unsupported claim of full manager-app feature parity. | Manager and resident apps have different permissions; free app download does not make the manager subscription free. | Separate standalone resident app is not assumed; features depend on role, account and plan. |
| Operating scale | |||
| Customers | Exact reported count 22,751Property-management customers · 2026-06-30 Sources S016, S017, S018 | More than 17,000Customers reported at acquisition; historical, not verified current count · 2019-12-18 Sources S056, S054 | Not disclosedCurrent company claim is qualitative: tens of thousands of customers; no exact figure verified Sources S077, S078 |
| Operational properties | Not disclosedNot publicly disclosed / not verified Sources S016, S017, S018 | Not disclosedNot publicly disclosed / not verified Sources S056, S054 | Not disclosedNot publicly disclosed / not verified Sources S077, S078 |
| Advertising properties | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S016, S017, S018 | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S056, S054 | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S077, S078 |
| Active rental listings | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S016, S017, S018 | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S056, S054 | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S077, S078 |
| Units | Approximately 9.6MUnits under management on the property-management platform; not tenants · 2026-06-30 Sources S016, S017, S018 | Approximately 2MResidential units reported at acquisition · 2019-12-18 Sources S056, S054 | Not disclosedHistorical company wording: hundreds of thousands of units in 2023; no exact updated count verified Sources S077, S078 |
| Leases | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S016, S017, S018 | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S056, S054 | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S077, S078 |
| Residents / tenants | Not disclosedNot publicly disclosed / not verified; units are not converted to people Sources S016, S017, S018 | Not disclosedNot publicly disclosed / not verified; units are not converted to people Sources S056, S054 | Not disclosedNot publicly disclosed / not verified; units are not converted to people Sources S077, S078 |
| Comparability & overlap | A customer can manage many units. Unit and customer totals are dated June 2026 and do not represent distinct resident people. | Precise numeric figures are from 2019. Current homepage is qualitative. Do not label this 2026 scale or add it to parent RealPage totals. Wholly owned by RealPage; separate product row within the same corporate group. | Qualitative scale is preserved as text. No arbitrary midpoint or lower-bound number is manufactured; unique properties and tenants are undisclosed. |
| Value & funding | |||
| Public company / parent cap | $7.38BAppFolio corporate equity, not a separate product valuation · snapshot 2026-09-12 · not live Sources S002 | No public-market snapshotPrivate RealPage subsidiary Sources S055 | No public-market snapshotPrivate; growth-equity backed Sources S076 |
| Historical value reference | Not establishedNo completed numeric historical valuation recorded Sources S002 | $580MAcquisition purchase price · 2019-12-18 · Historical completed RealPage acquisition; not current standalone value Sources S055 | $500MMedia-reported approximate private-round equity valuation · 2024-10-29 · Approximately $500M; not company-confirmed and not a current mark Sources S076 |
| Disclosed financing | $30MApproximate historical pre-IPO private rounds; secondary reconstruction Undisclosed does not mean zero. Acquisition and IPO proceeds are not automatically venture funding. Sources S014, S015 | $65MAt least one disclosed $65M growth investment; not a complete lifetime VC total Undisclosed does not mean zero. Acquisition and IPO proceeds are not automatically venture funding. Sources S053 | $130MTotal disclosed seed, Series A and growth-equity Series B; not classified as pure VC only Undisclosed does not mean zero. Acquisition and IPO proceeds are not automatically venture funding. Sources S073, S074, S075 |
| Investors | IGSB; other historical investors not exhaustively verified | Sumeru Equity Partners; earlier financing not exhaustively quantified | JMI Equity; Alpine Software Group / Alpine Investors |
| Reported exit target | Not recordedAn exit target is not a completed valuation | Not recordedAn exit target is not a completed valuation | Not recordedAn exit target is not a completed valuation |
Ten products, nine corporate groups. RealPage owns Buildium. This is a major-platform shortlist, not a universal quality ranking. Financial values, customer counts, and properties are not added together. Read the methodology.