Buildium
RealPage / Thoma Bravo · Est. 2004
Professional managers of smaller and midsize residential portfolios
DoorLoop
DoorLoop · Est. 2019
Independent landlords and growing professional property managers
How to read this comparison
Both profiles include paid public starting prices, but the pricing bases differ. Buildium’s Essential, Growth, and Premium figures are portfolio-scaled starting amounts. DoorLoop’s smallest tier has separate annual-billed monthly equivalents and month-to-month rates, with the specified unit scope.
Buildium’s precise operating-scale benchmarks are acquisition-era 2019 figures. DoorLoop’s qualitative scale language is not converted into an exact customer count. Treat the comparison as a way to prepare consistent demonstrations, not proof that one product is universally smaller, cheaper, or better.
Side-by-side source data
| Research field | Buildium | DoorLoop |
|---|---|---|
| Platform overview | ||
| Corporate group | RealPage / Thoma Bravo | DoorLoop |
| Product category | Property management for small and midsize professional portfolios | Cloud property-management platform |
| Founded / approximate age | 2004 · approximately 22 yearsCompany founding; current homepage states product launch in 2008 Sources S053, S054 | 2019 · approximately 7 yearsCompany founding; software launched in 2021 Sources S073 |
| Typical customer | Professional managers of smaller and midsize residential portfolios | Independent landlords and growing professional property managers |
| Pricing & fees | ||
| Starting subscription | From $62/moEssential starting price · portfolio-scaled · Tiered subscription, increasing with portfolio size Sources S057 | From $69/moAnnual-billed equivalent · up to 10 units · Unit-scaled Starter, Pro and Premium subscriptions; annual and monthly billing Sources S079 |
| Plans & billing basis | Essential from $62/month; Growth from $192/month; Premium from $400/month | Up to 10 units: annual-billed monthly equivalents Starter $69, Pro $149, Premium $209; month-to-month $99/$189/$239 |
| Minimums & commitments | Essential advertised starting price; actual charge depends on unit count Sources S057 | Starter for up to 10 units; $69/month equivalent when billed annually, $99 month-to-month Sources S079 |
| Screening charges | No universal screening fee verified Sources S057 | No universal screening fee verified Sources S079 |
| Payment fees | Incoming EFT, card, screening and electronic-signature charges vary by plan; current card rate listed at 2.99% | ACH and electronic-signature fees vary by plan; screening and merchant-account setup can add charges |
| Setup & contracts | Onboarding required for Growth and Premium; verify portfolio-specific quote and service charges | Portfolio-dependent onboarding fee; 300+ units custom quote; temporary promotions excluded |
| Apps & access | ||
| Website / web application | Website: Yes · Web app: Yes | Website: Yes · Web app: Yes |
| iOS app names | Buildium; Resident Center | DoorLoop |
| Android app names | Buildium; Resident Center | DoorLoop |
| Manager mobile access | Buildium web app and native manager app | DoorLoop web application and native iOS/Android manager apps |
| Resident web access | Resident Center | Role-based tenant portal |
| Important app caveat | Manager and resident apps have different permissions; free app download does not make the manager subscription free. | Separate standalone resident app is not assumed; features depend on role, account and plan. |
| Operating scale | ||
| Customers | More than 17,000Customers reported at acquisition; historical, not verified current count · 2019-12-18 Sources S056, S054 | Not disclosedCurrent company claim is qualitative: tens of thousands of customers; no exact figure verified Sources S077, S078 |
| Operational properties | Not disclosedNot publicly disclosed / not verified Sources S056, S054 | Not disclosedNot publicly disclosed / not verified Sources S077, S078 |
| Advertising properties | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S056, S054 | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S077, S078 |
| Active rental listings | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S056, S054 | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S077, S078 |
| Units | Approximately 2MResidential units reported at acquisition · 2019-12-18 Sources S056, S054 | Not disclosedHistorical company wording: hundreds of thousands of units in 2023; no exact updated count verified Sources S077, S078 |
| Leases | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S056, S054 | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S077, S078 |
| Residents / tenants | Not disclosedNot publicly disclosed / not verified; units are not converted to people Sources S056, S054 | Not disclosedNot publicly disclosed / not verified; units are not converted to people Sources S077, S078 |
| Comparability & overlap | Precise numeric figures are from 2019. Current homepage is qualitative. Do not label this 2026 scale or add it to parent RealPage totals. Wholly owned by RealPage; separate product row within the same corporate group. | Qualitative scale is preserved as text. No arbitrary midpoint or lower-bound number is manufactured; unique properties and tenants are undisclosed. |
| Value & funding | ||
| Public company / parent cap | No public-market snapshotPrivate RealPage subsidiary Sources S055 | No public-market snapshotPrivate; growth-equity backed Sources S076 |
| Historical value reference | $580MAcquisition purchase price · 2019-12-18 · Historical completed RealPage acquisition; not current standalone value Sources S055 | $500MMedia-reported approximate private-round equity valuation · 2024-10-29 · Approximately $500M; not company-confirmed and not a current mark Sources S076 |
| Disclosed financing | $65MAt least one disclosed $65M growth investment; not a complete lifetime VC total Undisclosed does not mean zero. Acquisition and IPO proceeds are not automatically venture funding. Sources S053 | $130MTotal disclosed seed, Series A and growth-equity Series B; not classified as pure VC only Undisclosed does not mean zero. Acquisition and IPO proceeds are not automatically venture funding. Sources S073, S074, S075 |
| Investors | Sumeru Equity Partners; earlier financing not exhaustively quantified | JMI Equity; Alpine Software Group / Alpine Investors |
| Reported exit target | Not recordedAn exit target is not a completed valuation | Not recordedAn exit target is not a completed valuation |