Platform overview
Buildium was founded in 2004, and its current homepage dates the software’s launch to 2008. It targets property managers who need an operating system for a residential portfolio rather than only a place to advertise vacancies. RealPage acquired Buildium in December 2019 for approximately $580 million. That historical purchase price is recorded separately from RealPage’s later take-private value, because Buildium is now a product business inside the same corporate group rather than an independent publicly valued company. S053S054S055
The acquisition-era investor announcement reported more than 17,000 customers and approximately two million residential units. Those are useful historical benchmarks, but no equally precise current replacement was verified, so the dataset prominently dates them to December 2019. Buildium also disclosed a $65 million Sumeru growth investment in 2016, which is not presented as a complete lifetime venture-funding total. Current qualitative claims of thousands of managers and millions of properties are not converted into fabricated exact numbers, and no tenant-person count is inferred. S056S053S054
Buildium combines property accounting, bank reconciliation, owner reporting, rental marketing, tenant screening, electronic leasing, payments and maintenance workflows. Its integration ecosystem extends the core service where a manager needs specialized tools. Compared with a listing-only product, the analytical distinction is a stronger emphasis on the recurring administrative work of operating a portfolio. A buyer should evaluate the accounting workflow and owner reporting alongside leasing features, while checking which integrations, automation capabilities and transaction services belong to the selected subscription tier. S054
The product includes a browser-based management application and native Buildium manager apps for both iOS and Android. Residents have a separate Resident Center experience on the web and on both mobile operating systems. That resident channel supports payments, maintenance submissions and access to relevant documents, without exposing management-only financial records. The distinction between the two app families is useful during implementation because staff and residents have different onboarding and permission requirements, and downloading either app does not eliminate the manager’s underlying subscription obligation. S058S059
Advertised starting prices are $62 per month for Essential, $192 for Growth and $400 for Premium, with actual pricing affected by portfolio size. The reviewed page offers a 14-day trial and identifies onboarding requirements for the higher plans. Payment processing, screening and electronic signatures can add charges, and the card-processing rate shown is 2.99 percent. A comparison should therefore price the relevant number of units and expected transaction activity, rather than treating the advertised entry amount as an unlimited-portfolio total. S057
Features & workflow fit
Property management for small and midsize professional portfolios. Primarily US-facing; international scope depends on product.
- Property accounting
- bank reconciliation
- owner reporting
- listings
- screening
- electronic leases
- payments
- maintenance
- integrations
- Property discovery
- Listing syndication and property websites; not a general consumer discovery marketplace
- Typical customer
- Professional managers of smaller and midsize residential portfolios
- Material limitations
- 2019 operational scale is stale; current product price is a starting amount, not flat unlimited-unit pricing.
Pricing, fees & commitments
- Pricing model
- Tiered subscription, increasing with portfolio size
- Pricing tiers
- Essential from $62/month; Growth from $192/month; Premium from $400/month
- Starting monthly (usd)
- $62
- Month-to-month starting price (USD)
- Not disclosed / not verified; see related status notes.
- Starting per-unit monthly rate (USD)
- Not disclosed / not verified; see related status notes.
- Minimum monthly charge (USD)
- Not disclosed / not verified; see related status notes.
- Minimum units
- Not disclosed / not verified; see related status notes.
- Minimum spend note
- Not disclosed / not verified; see related status notes.
- Screening fee note
- Not disclosed / not verified; see related status notes.
- Payment fee note
- Incoming EFT, card, screening and electronic-signature charges vary by plan; current card rate listed at 2.99%
- Trial note
- 14-day free trial; no credit card required on reviewed page
- Contract setup note
- Onboarding required for Growth and Premium; verify portfolio-specific quote and service charges
- Pricing verified date
- 2026-09-14
Website, apps & resident access
- Website url
- https://www.buildium.com/
- Website available
- Yes
- Web app available
- Yes
- Ios app available
- Yes
- Ios app names
- Buildium; Resident Center
- Android app available
- Yes
- Android app names
- Buildium; Resident Center
- Manager mobile access
- Buildium web app and native manager app
- Resident web access
- Resident Center
Customers, properties, units & residents
These are separate operating populations. No unit count is converted into a tenant estimate.
| Metric | Reported figure, definition & date |
|---|---|
| Customers | More than 17,000Customers reported at acquisition; historical, not verified current count · 2019-12-18 Sources S056, S054 |
| Operational properties | Not disclosedNot publicly disclosed / not verified Sources S056, S054 |
| Advertising properties | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S056, S054 |
| Active rental listings | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S056, S054 |
| Units | Approximately 2MResidential units reported at acquisition · 2019-12-18 Sources S056, S054 |
| Leases | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S056, S054 |
| Residents / tenants | Not disclosedNot publicly disclosed / not verified; units are not converted to people Sources S056, S054 |
Precise numeric figures are from 2019. Current homepage is qualitative. Do not label this 2026 scale or add it to parent RealPage totals. Wholly owned by RealPage; separate product row within the same corporate group.
Company history, value & funding
| Financial reference | Value and scope |
|---|---|
| Public company / parent market cap | No public-market snapshotPrivate RealPage subsidiary Sources S055 |
| Historical transaction / valuation | $580MAcquisition purchase price · 2019-12-18 · Historical completed RealPage acquisition; not current standalone value Sources S055 |
| Disclosed financing | $65MAt least one disclosed $65M growth investment; not a complete lifetime VC total Undisclosed does not mean zero. Acquisition and IPO proceeds are not automatically venture funding. Sources S053 |
| Reported exit target | Not recordedAn exit target is not a completed valuation |
- Founded year
- 2004
- Founding basis
- Company founding; current homepage states product launch in 2008
- Product launch year
- 2008
- Age years approx
- 22
- Age method
- 2026 minus founding year; approximate calendar-year age, not completed-anniversary age
- Investors
- Sumeru Equity Partners; earlier financing not exhaustively quantified
- Latest disclosed round (usd)
- $65,000,000
- Latest disclosed round date
- 2016-06
- Latest disclosed round type
- Sumeru strategic growth investment
- Funding confidence
- High for named investment; incomplete lifetime history
- Funding warning
- Undisclosed does not mean zero. Acquisition and IPO proceeds are not automatically venture funding.
- Valuation warning
- Current equity market cap, historical deal value, funding and exit targets are not interchangeable.
Source trail & evidence limits
2019 operational scale is stale; current product price is a starting amount, not flat unlimited-unit pricing. Precise numeric figures are from 2019. Current homepage is qualitative. Do not label this 2026 scale or add it to parent RealPage totals.
Inspect all 126 original CSV fields for this platform
Original field names and values are preserved. Blank cells are shown with their unknown-value policy; the downloadable CSV remains unchanged.
| Original field | Original value |
|---|---|
| project | TenantPlatform.com |
| research_as_of | 2026-09-14 |
| selection_order | 7 |
| platform_id | buildium |
| platform | Buildium |
| corporate_group | RealPage / Thoma Bravo |
| ownership_status | Private RealPage subsidiary |
| category | Property management for small and midsize professional portfolios |
| selection_basis | Major-platform editorial shortlist based on documented financial importance, operating scale, longevity and rental-workflow relevance; not a universal global top-ten ranking |
| geography | Primarily US-facing; international scope depends on product |
| website_url | https://www.buildium.com/ |
| founded_year | 2004 |
| founding_basis | Company founding; current homepage states product launch in 2008 |
| product_launch_year | 2008 |
| age_years_approx | 22 |
| age_rank_oldest_first | 7 |
| age_method | 2026 minus founding year; approximate calendar-year age, not completed-anniversary age |
| currency | USD |
| publicly_traded_entity | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| ticker | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| exchange | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| public_market_cap_rank | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| public_market_cap_usd | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| public_market_cap_scope | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| market_cap_source_snapshot | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| market_cap_status | Not applicable: no active public listing / standalone product market cap verified |
| historical_value_usd | 580000000 |
| historical_value_date | 2019-12-18 |
| historical_value_type | Acquisition purchase price |
| historical_value_status | Historical completed RealPage acquisition; not current standalone value |
| reported_exit_target_usd | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| reported_exit_target_date | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| reported_exit_target_status | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| valuation_warning | Current equity market cap, historical deal value, funding and exit targets are not interchangeable. |
| verified_vc_total_usd | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| disclosed_funding_sum_usd | 65000000 |
| funding_status | At least one disclosed $65M growth investment; not a complete lifetime VC total |
| latest_disclosed_round_usd | 65000000 |
| latest_disclosed_round_date | 2016-06 |
| latest_disclosed_round_type | Sumeru strategic growth investment |
| investors | Sumeru Equity Partners; earlier financing not exhaustively quantified |
| funding_confidence | High for named investment; incomplete lifetime history |
| funding_warning | Undisclosed does not mean zero. Acquisition and IPO proceeds are not automatically venture funding. |
| customers_count | 17000 |
| customers_operator | More than |
| customers_definition | Customers reported at acquisition; historical, not verified current count |
| customers_as_of | 2019-12-18 |
| customer_count_status | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| operational_property_count | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| operational_property_operator | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| operational_property_definition | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| operational_property_as_of | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| operational_property_count_status | Not publicly disclosed / not verified |
| advertising_property_count | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| advertising_property_definition | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| advertising_property_as_of | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| active_rental_listings_count | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| active_rental_listings_definition | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| active_rental_listings_as_of | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| units_count | 2000000 |
| units_operator | Approximately |
| units_definition | Residential units reported at acquisition |
| units_as_of | 2019-12-18 |
| units_evidence | Historical investor sale-completion release |
| units_count_status | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| leases_count | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| leases_definition | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| leases_as_of | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| tenants_residents_count | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| tenants_residents_operator | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| tenants_residents_definition | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| tenants_residents_as_of | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| tenant_count_status | Not publicly disclosed / not verified; units are not converted to people |
| scale_comparability_note | Precise numeric figures are from 2019. Current homepage is qualitative. Do not label this 2026 scale or add it to parent RealPage totals. |
| overlap_note | Wholly owned by RealPage; separate product row within the same corporate group. |
| website_available | Yes |
| web_app_available | Yes |
| ios_app_available | Yes |
| android_app_available | Yes |
| manager_mobile_access | Buildium web app and native manager app |
| ios_app_names | Buildium; Resident Center |
| android_app_names | Buildium; Resident Center |
| resident_web_access | Resident Center |
| native_app_role_caveat | Manager and resident apps have different permissions; free app download does not make the manager subscription free. |
| features | Property accounting; bank reconciliation; owner reporting; listings; screening; electronic leases; payments; maintenance; integrations |
| property_discovery | Listing syndication and property websites; not a general consumer discovery marketplace |
| typical_customer | Professional managers of smaller and midsize residential portfolios |
| pricing_verified_date | 2026-09-14 |
| pricing_model | Tiered subscription, increasing with portfolio size |
| starting_monthly_usd | 62 |
| month_to_month_starting_usd | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| starting_per_unit_monthly_usd | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| starting_price_basis | Essential advertised starting price; actual charge depends on unit count |
| minimum_units | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| minimum_monthly_usd | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| minimum_spend_note | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| pricing_tiers | Essential from $62/month; Growth from $192/month; Premium from $400/month |
| screening_fee_usd | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| screening_fee_note | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| payment_fee_note | Incoming EFT, card, screening and electronic-signature charges vary by plan; current card rate listed at 2.99% |
| trial_note | 14-day free trial; no credit card required on reviewed page |
| contract_setup_note | Onboarding required for Growth and Premium; verify portfolio-specific quote and service charges |
| material_limitations | 2019 operational scale is stale; current product price is a starting amount, not flat unlimited-unit pricing. |
| data_quality_summary | 2019 operational scale is stale; current product price is a starting amount, not flat unlimited-unit pricing. Precise numeric figures are from 2019. Current homepage is qualitative. Do not label this 2026 scale or add it to parent RealPage totals. |
| description_p1 | Buildium was founded in 2004, and its current homepage dates the software’s launch to 2008. It targets property managers who need an operating system for a residential portfolio rather than only a place to advertise vacancies. RealPage acquired Buildium in December 2019 for approximately $580 million. That historical purchase price is recorded separately from RealPage’s later take-private value, because Buildium is now a product business inside the same corporate group rather than an independent publicly valued company. [S053, S054, S055] |
| description_p2 | The acquisition-era investor announcement reported more than 17,000 customers and approximately two million residential units. Those are useful historical benchmarks, but no equally precise current replacement was verified, so the dataset prominently dates them to December 2019. Buildium also disclosed a $65 million Sumeru growth investment in 2016, which is not presented as a complete lifetime venture-funding total. Current qualitative claims of thousands of managers and millions of properties are not converted into fabricated exact numbers, and no tenant-person count is inferred. [S056, S053, S054] |
| description_p3 | Buildium combines property accounting, bank reconciliation, owner reporting, rental marketing, tenant screening, electronic leasing, payments and maintenance workflows. Its integration ecosystem extends the core service where a manager needs specialized tools. Compared with a listing-only product, the analytical distinction is a stronger emphasis on the recurring administrative work of operating a portfolio. A buyer should evaluate the accounting workflow and owner reporting alongside leasing features, while checking which integrations, automation capabilities and transaction services belong to the selected subscription tier. [S054] |
| description_p4 | The product includes a browser-based management application and native Buildium manager apps for both iOS and Android. Residents have a separate Resident Center experience on the web and on both mobile operating systems. That resident channel supports payments, maintenance submissions and access to relevant documents, without exposing management-only financial records. The distinction between the two app families is useful during implementation because staff and residents have different onboarding and permission requirements, and downloading either app does not eliminate the manager’s underlying subscription obligation. [S058, S059] |
| description_p5 | Advertised starting prices are $62 per month for Essential, $192 for Growth and $400 for Premium, with actual pricing affected by portfolio size. The reviewed page offers a 14-day trial and identifies onboarding requirements for the higher plans. Payment processing, screening and electronic signatures can add charges, and the card-processing rate shown is 2.99 percent. A comparison should therefore price the relevant number of units and expected transaction activity, rather than treating the advertised entry amount as an unlimited-portfolio total. [S057] |
| history_source_ids | S053; S054 |
| valuation_source_ids | S055 |
| funding_source_ids | S053 |
| scale_source_ids | S056; S054 |
| features_source_ids | S054 |
| apps_source_ids | S058; S059 |
| pricing_source_ids | S057 |
| risk_source_ids | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| all_source_ids | S053; S054; S055; S056; S058; S059; S057 |
| history_source_urls | https://www.buildium.com/about-us/ | https://www.buildium.com/ |
| valuation_source_urls | https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1286225/000128622520000009/buildiumproforma.htm |
| funding_source_urls | https://www.buildium.com/about-us/ |
| scale_source_urls | https://www.nasdaq.com/press-release/sumeru-equity-partners-completes-sale-of-buildium-to-realpage-2019-12-18 | https://www.buildium.com/ |
| features_source_urls | https://www.buildium.com/ |
| apps_source_urls | https://www.buildium.com/blog/best-property-management-app/ | https://www.residentcenter.com/ |
| pricing_source_urls | https://www.buildium.com/pricing/ |
| risk_source_urls | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |