The evidence behind the directory

Sources & research methodology

Follow every important number back to its recorded source. Understand the definitions, dates, and boundaries before reusing the research.

Research snapshot · September 14, 2026 · Sources & methodology

How to read the research

The directory is a major-platform shortlist of ten US-facing rental-management and rental-discovery products, selected for documented financial importance, operating scale, longevity, and rental-workflow relevance. It is not an audited worldwide top-ten ranking, an investment recommendation, or a hands-on product-performance test. The ten product records represent nine corporate groups because RealPage owns Buildium.

The research cutoff is September 14, 2026. Individual values retain their own measurement dates, source definitions, and uncertainty notes. A source accessed in 2026 may support an older figure; access does not turn that figure into a current count. Public market-cap values are delayed September 12–13 source snapshots, not verified live September 14 quotes.

Parent-company market capitalizations are not standalone product valuations. Acquisition references, private-round valuations, financing sums, and reported exit targets are kept separate. A partial disclosed financing sum is not automatically an exhaustive lifetime venture total. Blank numeric fields mean not applicable, undisclosed, or not verified—not zero.

Customers, properties, advertising communities, active listings, units, leases, and residents are distinct populations. Units are not converted into people, and overlapping vendor footprints are not added into a unique market total. Qualifiers such as more than, approximately, historical, and measurement date not specified remain part of the evidence.

An iOS or Android entry means at least one relevant native app was verified in the original research. It does not mean every operator function is native-mobile. Pricing describes the published plan and its conditions at the research date, not a binding quotation. The original source register is preserved below; any additional website verification is explicitly separated.

Published blog dates span the 2025–2026 editorial archive, while their platform facts were reviewed against the September 2026 research snapshot. The site does not claim that later vendor metrics were known on an earlier article publication date. Download the original data and field definitions or send a sourced correction.

Original source register · 82 records

The original publisher, title, date, claim description, and limitation are retained. Dynamic source pages may change after the research snapshot.

S001CoStar Group market capitalization

CompaniesMarketCap · Secondary · Published: 2026-09-12 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Approximate $12.34B CoStar Group market capitalization.

Dynamic delayed snapshot; whole parent, not standalone Apartments.com. September 12 was not a trading session.

Open original source

S002AppFolio market capitalization

CompaniesMarketCap · Secondary · Published: 2026-09-12 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Approximate $7.38B AppFolio market capitalization.

Dynamic delayed snapshot; not a verified live September 14 quote.

Open original source

S003Zillow Group market capitalization

CompaniesMarketCap · Secondary · Published: 2026-09-13 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Approximate $7.30B Zillow Group market capitalization.

Whole group including its share classes; do not add Z and ZG market caps. September 13 was not a trading session.

Open original source

S004The world of online apartment hunting

Inman · Secondary · Published: 2004-07-08 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Visual Properties roots in 1992; Apartments.com branded website launched in 1998.

Open original source

S005CoStar Group 2014 Form 10-K

CoStar Group / SEC · Primary · Published: 2015 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: April 1, 2014 acquisition; adjusted purchase price $584.2M.

Headline announced purchase price was $585M; historical transaction, not current valuation.

Open original source

S006Classified Ventures announces close of Apartments.com sale to CoStar Group

Classified Ventures / PR Newswire · Primary · Published: 2014-04-01 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Sale completion and approximately $585M headline consideration.

Open original source

S007CoStar Group Q4 2025 earnings call

CoStar management / AlphaSpread transcript · Primary statement via secondary transcript · Published: 2026 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: 89,275 paying Apartments.com properties at year-end 2025.

Paying advertising properties; not a count of properties using the free management tools.

Open original source

S008Rental Manager

Apartments.com · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Online listings, applications, screening, leases, payments, maintenance and expense tools; free landlord tools.

Open original source

S009Does Apartments.com have a mobile app?

Apartments.com · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: iOS and Android apps are for renters; landlords use the mobile website.

Open original source

S010Apartments.com Rental Finder

Apple App Store / CoStar · Primary marketplace listing · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Native rental-search app; property search, photos and contact functions.

Canadian storefront URL; country availability and features can differ.

Open original source

S011Are there fees with collecting or paying rent?

Apartments.com · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: ACH payments free; renter card and Google Pay transactions incur a 2.75% fee.

Open original source

S012How much do applications cost?

Apartments.com · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Applicant screening costs $32 plus tax; reusable at up to ten participating landlords for 30 days.

Open original source

S013Who We Are

AppFolio · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Founded in 2006; company positioning and real-estate software focus.

The undated page has older scale claims; use the June 2026 filing for quantitative scale.

Open original source

S014AppFolio funding history

Owler · Secondary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Private rounds of $5M, $17M and $8M, totaling approximately $30M before the IPO.

Reconstructed historical private-round sum; exclude public IPO proceeds. Not a complete lifetime financing audit.

Open original source

S015AppFolio gains $8M more in venture capital

Pacific Coast Business Times · Secondary · Published: 2009-08-18 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Historical $8M financing; prior $17M financing and IGSB involvement.

Open original source

S016AppFolio Form 10-Q for June 30, 2026

AppFolio / SEC · Primary · Published: 2026-07 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: 22,751 property-management customers as of June 30, 2026; operating metric definitions.

Open original source

S017AppFolio Q2 2026 earnings report and call

AppFolio management / MarketBeat · Primary statement via secondary transcript · Published: 2026-07-23 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: 9.6M units and 22,751 property-management customers.

Open original source

S018AppFolio announces second-quarter 2026 financial results

AppFolio · Primary · Published: 2026-07-23 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Public-company status and latest reporting period.

Open original source

S019Property management software pricing

AppFolio · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Core, Plus and Max; quote-based current prices; Core 50-unit minimum and minimum-spend condition; tiered features.

Open original source

S020AppFolio Property Manager

Apple App Store / AppFolio · Primary marketplace listing · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Native iOS management app for existing customers; mobile inspections and work orders.

Open original source

S021Online Portal help

AppFolio · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Resident web portal plus iOS and Android apps; payments, maintenance and documents.

Open original source

S022Zillow 2014 Form 10-K

Zillow / SEC · Primary · Published: 2015 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Original operating company incorporated December 2004; website launched February 2006.

Distinguish the original business from the later Zillow Group holding company and Rental Manager product.

Open original source

S023Zillow partners with John L. Scott Real Estate

Zillow · Primary · Published: 2010-03-15 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Historical cumulative venture funding of $87M.

Open original source

S024Zillow gets another $30 million in financing

Inman · Secondary · Published: 2007-09-20 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: $30M financing led by Legg Mason.

Open original source

S025Investor relations overview, Q2 2026 rental metrics

Zillow Group · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: 79,000 multifamily properties in Q2 2026.

Not a landlord-customer count and not proof of operational management.

Open original source

S026Zillow Q2 2026 earnings

HousingWire · Secondary · Published: 2026 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: 2.8M average monthly active rental listings and 79,000 multifamily properties in Q2 2026.

Open original source

S027Zillow Rental Manager

Zillow · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Listing, applications, screening, leasing, online rent collection and property-lifecycle tools.

Open original source

S028Claiming Rental Listings in Zillow Rental Manager

Zillow · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Free direct listings; optional $39.99 premium upgrade for up to 90 days; larger multifamily advertising differs.

Open original source

S029How much does the application cost?

Zillow · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: $35 applicant-paid screening, reusable for 30 days with participating rentals.

Open original source

S030Where can I download the Zillow Rental Manager app?

Zillow · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Official iOS and Android landlord-app availability and store links.

Open original source

S031Zillow Rental Manager

Apple App Store / Zillow · Primary marketplace listing · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Native landlord app; listings, applications, payments and move-in checklist.

Open original source

S032Company overview

RealPage · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Founded in 1998; property-management software business.

Open original source

S033Thoma Bravo completes acquisition of RealPage

RealPage · Primary · Published: 2021-04-22 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Completed $10.2B transaction including net debt; private ownership.

Historical enterprise transaction value, not equity market capitalization or VC funding.

Open original source

S034RealPage acquires Cherre

RealPage · Primary · Published: 2026-07-14 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: More than 42,000 customers and 24M housing units worldwide; broad platform footprint and product positioning.

Open original source

S035RealPage product platform

RealPage · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Property operations, leasing, accounting, resident experience, utilities and data products; enterprise sales model.

Open original source

S036LOFT Living

RealPage / LOFT · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Resident web and iOS/Android access; payments, maintenance, community and lease services.

Resident access depends on property participation and enabled services.

Open original source

S037Justice Department requires RealPage to end sharing competitively sensitive information

U.S. Department of Justice · Primary · Published: 2025-11-24 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Announced settlement restrictions relevant to algorithmic rental pricing.

Do not interpret as a statement that all private or state litigation is resolved.

Open original source

S038Proposed consent decree with Pinnacle

U.S. Department of Justice · Primary · Published: 2026-09-04 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Latest DOJ context referring to its RealPage settlement.

Pinnacle decree is separate; included only to update context on RealPage settlement status.

Open original source

S039GI Partners to acquire MRI Software

MRI Software · Primary · Published: 2015 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: MRI software business operating since 1971.

Open original source

S040MRI Software receives investment to accelerate innovation and global growth

MRI Software · Primary · Published: 2020 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: GI Partners, TA Associates and Harvest Partners investment history; amount undisclosed.

Open original source

S041MRI Software owners target sale or IPO at up to $10 billion valuation

Reuters · Secondary · Published: 2025-09-26 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Reported possible sale/IPO target of up to $10B including debt.

Unconsummated target reported in 2025, not a verified current valuation. No completed exit confirmed in this research.

Open original source

S042About MRI Software, United Kingdom

MRI Software · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: 45,000+ clients, 23M units, 5.5M leases and more than 170 countries.

Undated global marketing metrics; mixed product and property types, not unique tenant counts.

Open original source

S043MRI reports record year after adding nearly 2,000 new clients

MRI Software · Primary · Published: 2026-03-03 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Recent company activity, product breadth and AI platform adoption.

Open original source

S044RentPayment features and benefits

MRI Software · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Resident payment web service and iOS/Android mobile availability; autopay and multiple payment routes.

Open original source

S045MRI Engage Connect

Apple App Store / MRI · Primary marketplace listing · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Resident mobile work orders, community announcements and lease information.

Open original source

S046Blackstone makes $200 million minority investment in Entrata

Entrata · Primary · Published: 2025-05-15 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: $200M investment at $4.3B valuation; founded 2003; 12M+ residents and 35,000+ communities.

Open original source

S047Entrata raises $507M led by Silver Lake, Ryan Smith and Todd Pedersen

Silver Lake · Primary · Published: 2021-07-07 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: $507M disclosed growth financing; named investors.

Open original source

S048Entrata amended Form S-1

Entrata / SEC · Primary · Published: 2026-09-01 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: 2.5M billed core Operating System units at June 30, 2026; ancillary units excluded; IPO registration.

Filing indexed by web search; full direct page access was limited. A filing is not a completed IPO.

Open original source

S049Entrata updates IPO filing; IPO timing remains unknown

Utah Money Watch · Secondary · Published: 2026-09-08 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Latest IPO filing context; no completed listing or offering price established.

Open original source

S050Entrata files to go public

Utah Money Watch · Secondary · Published: 2026 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: 2022 founder buyout involving investors; consideration not disclosed.

Supports qualification that adding two announced rounds is not an exhaustive financing history.

Open original source

S051Homebody for property managers

Homebody / Entrata · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Resident web application and iOS/Android Homebody apps; resident-experience positioning.

Open original source

S052Homebody resident app expands through Cobu partnership

Entrata · Primary · Published: 2026-03-05 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Homebody resident engagement and leasing functionality; operator/resident ecosystem.

Open original source

S053About us

Buildium · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Founded in 2004; founders; $65M Sumeru growth investment in 2016.

Open original source

S054Property management software

Buildium · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Product launched in 2008; accounting, payments, leasing, maintenance, owner reporting and integrations.

Current homepage uses qualitative scale language, not a precise new customer or unit count.

Open original source

S055Buildium acquisition pro forma information

RealPage / SEC · Primary · Published: 2020 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: December 18, 2019 acquisition; $580M purchase price.

Open original source

S056Sumeru completes sale of Buildium to RealPage

Sumeru Equity Partners / Nasdaq · Primary investor release · Published: 2019-12-18 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: 17,000+ customers and 2M residential units at acquisition.

Historical 2019 footprint; do not present as a 2026 count.

Open original source

S057Pricing

Buildium · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Essential starts $62/month, Growth $192, Premium $400; 14-day trial; unit-dependent price and ancillary fees.

Open original source

S058Best property management apps

Buildium · Primary for own-product claims · Published: 2026 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Buildium manager app and Resident Center both available for iOS and Android.

Vendor comparison article; used only to verify Buildium apps, not competitor rankings.

Open original source

S059Resident Center

Buildium · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Resident web/mobile rent payments, documents and maintenance.

Open original source

S060About us

Yardi · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Founded in 1984; privately held real-estate software group.

Open original source

S061Hubble announces United States launch

Yardi · Primary · Published: 2026-08-20 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: 15,000+ real-estate-industry clients in more than 80 countries.

Open original source

S062Property management system unit counts, 2026

Propexo / Remen Okoruwa · Secondary relay of vendor statements · Published: 2026-07-29 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Yardi 15M units as of May 19, 2026; Rent Manager 5.75M as of July 1, 2026, provided directly by vendors to Propexo.

Not independently audited. Other vendor figures on this page differ in date and core-PMS scope; not substituted for newer or broader primary-source figures.

Open original source

S063Residential features and pricing

Yardi Breeze · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Breeze residential $1/unit/month, $100 minimum; Breeze Premier $1/unit/month, $400 minimum; annual agreement; other property types differ.

Open original source

S064RentCafe Resident Portal

Yardi · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Resident web/mobile payments, maintenance, renewals and move-in functions.

Open original source

S065Resident portal frequently asked questions

Yardi · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: RentCafe resident-app availability on Apple and Android devices.

Open original source

S066Yardi introduces RentCafe CRM IQ mobile app

Yardi / PR Newswire · Primary · Published: 2025-05-13 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: iOS and Android manager/leasing app for leads, communications and on-site work.

Open original source

S067Rooted in Cincinnati, built by people from around the world

London Computer Systems · Primary · Published: 2026-08-06 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Business founded 1987 and incorporated in 1988.

Open original source

S068About Rent Manager

Rent Manager · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: 10,000+ property-management companies; ownership and positioning.

Open original source

S069Roots Management Group selects Rent Manager

London Computer Systems / PR Newswire · Primary · Published: 2026-04-07 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Company footprint of 10,000+ customers.

Roots portfolio size is one client, not a platform-wide unit count.

Open original source

S070Pricing

Rent Manager · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Current Basic, Plus and Premium packages require quotes; functionality and add-on distinctions.

Open original source

S071Mobile app

Rent Manager · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: rmAppSuite Pro on iOS and Android; inspections, work orders, utilities, communications; integration with web/online software.

Open original source

S072Business operations

Rent Manager · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Web and mobile operations, communications and property-management functionality.

Open original source

S073About DoorLoop

DoorLoop · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Founded 2019; software launched 2021; $10M seed, $20M Series A and $100M Series B.

Open original source

S074DoorLoop raises $100 million Series B funding round

JMI Equity · Primary · Published: 2024-10-29 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: $100M Series B led by JMI Equity.

Open original source

S075DoorLoop named a best startup employer for second year

JMI Equity · Primary · Published: 2025 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Cumulative $130M financing disclosure.

Open original source

S076DoorLoop raises $100 million to power property management platform

Calcalist / CTech · Secondary · Published: 2024-10-29 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Approximately $500M valuation reported around Series B.

Reported estimate, not a company-confirmed current valuation.

Open original source

S077Property management software

DoorLoop · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Qualitative claim of tens of thousands of customers; main platform capabilities.

No exact independently verifiable customer, property or tenant total on this page.

Open original source

S078DoorLoop revolutionizes user interface

DoorLoop · Primary · Published: 2023 · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Historical qualitative claim of hundreds of thousands of units and users in more than 100 countries.

Not a precise count and not a 2026 footprint.

Open original source

S079Pricing

DoorLoop · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: For up to ten units: annual-billed monthly equivalents $69/$149/$209; month-to-month $99/$189/$239; unit-scaled prices, onboarding and transaction fees.

Open original source

S080Mobile apps

DoorLoop · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: iOS and Android manager apps plus browser-based application; role-based mobile workflows.

Open original source

S081Leasing features

DoorLoop · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Listings, screening, applications and electronic leasing.

Open original source

S082Property management websites

DoorLoop · Primary · Published: Not specified · Accessed: 2026-09-14

Claims recorded: Property marketing websites and online rental applications.

Open original source

Supplementary website verification

This is an additional note, not a replacement or silent correction of the original research CSV.

B001Yardi Breeze pricing: Premier bundle conditions

Yardi Breeze · Accessed: 2026-09-14

The residential Breeze Premier $1/unit rate is conditional on bundled screening and renters insurance with a 12-month contract; the page otherwise describes $2/unit, with a $400 monthly minimum.

Supplementary website verification. This note does not overwrite the original CSV fields; confirm a current written quote.

Open additional pricing source