Platform overview
AppFolio is a public software company founded in 2006 and focused on the operating needs of real-estate businesses. Its Property Manager product is a management system rather than primarily a consumer rental-search destination. The sourced September market-capitalization snapshot was approximately $7.38 billion for AppFolio as a company. That figure can be compared with other listed-company equity values, but it is not directly comparable with an acquisition price that includes debt or a private-company fundraising total. S013S002
AppFolio reported 22,751 property-management customers and approximately 9.6 million units at June 30, 2026. These are separate operating measures: one customer may manage a large portfolio, while each unit can house more than one resident. Historical private financing is approximately $30 million from the disclosed pre-IPO rounds, including an $8 million financing reported in August 2009. The funding reconstruction is less authoritative than the recent operating disclosures, and neither the unit total nor website traffic is used to invent a tenant count. S016S017S014S015
The platform connects accounting, reporting, marketing, leasing, payments, maintenance and communications in a common operating environment. Its current package structure also includes RealmX automation, with more advanced accounting, workflow and integration capabilities differentiated across tiers. This breadth makes it relevant to managers seeking fewer disconnected systems and a consistent operating record across a growing portfolio. However, the useful comparison is the exact package and services being purchased, because advanced APIs and specialized capabilities are not automatically included in every plan. S019
Customers use AppFolio through a browser, and a native AppFolio Property Manager application is verified on iOS. Residents have a separate Online Portal by AppFolio experience available on the web and through both iOS and Android applications. The resident portal supports rent payments, maintenance requests and document access, rather than exposing the manager’s complete accounting environment. This role separation is important when evaluating mobile coverage: the presence of a resident Android app does not by itself establish identical operator functionality across every device. S020S021
Current Core, Plus and Max prices require a sales quote; the vendor no longer presents a reliable public dollar-per-unit schedule on the reviewed pricing page. Core specifies a 50-unit minimum and a minimum-spend condition, but the dollar minimum was not disclosed. Payment processing, screening, implementation and selected services should be checked in the actual proposal instead of assumed to be included. For a buyer, the practical cost comparison is the complete annual contract and expected transaction volume, not an old third-party entry price. S019
Features & workflow fit
Cloud property-management operating system. Primarily US-facing; international scope depends on product.
- Property accounting
- reporting
- marketing and leasing
- payments
- work orders
- inspections
- resident and owner communications
- RealmX automation
- tier-dependent APIs
- Property discovery
- Manager listings and marketing workflows, rather than a general consumer housing-search brand
- Typical customer
- Professional residential and mixed-portfolio property managers
- Material limitations
- Historical online per-unit price lists were not treated as current prices. Portfolio fit and data-access features differ by tier.
Pricing, fees & commitments
- Pricing model
- Quote-based Core, Plus and Max plans
- Pricing tiers
- Current dollar rates not publicly posted; Core, Plus and Max require a sales quote
- Starting monthly (usd)
- Not disclosed / not verified; see related status notes.
- Month-to-month starting price (USD)
- Not disclosed / not verified; see related status notes.
- Starting per-unit monthly rate (USD)
- Not disclosed / not verified; see related status notes.
- Minimum monthly charge (USD)
- Not disclosed / not verified; see related status notes.
- Minimum units
- 50
- Minimum spend note
- Core has a 50-unit minimum and a minimum-spend condition; current dollar minimum not disclosed
- Screening fee note
- Not disclosed / not verified; see related status notes.
- Payment fee note
- Payments, screening and other value-added services may have separate fees; obtain written quote
- Trial note
- Not disclosed / not verified; see related status notes.
- Contract setup note
- Implementation, modules and contract terms require quote review
- Pricing verified date
- 2026-09-14
Website, apps & resident access
- Website url
- https://www.appfolio.com/
- Website available
- Yes
- Web app available
- Yes
- Ios app available
- Yes
- Ios app names
- AppFolio Property Manager; Online Portal by AppFolio
- Android app available
- Yes
- Android app names
- Online Portal by AppFolio (resident app verified)
- Manager mobile access
- AppFolio Property Manager native iOS app verified; browser application; separate resident mobile ecosystem
- Resident web access
- Online Portal by AppFolio
Customers, properties, units & residents
These are separate operating populations. No unit count is converted into a tenant estimate.
| Metric | Reported figure, definition & date |
|---|---|
| Customers | Exact reported count 22,751Property-management customers · 2026-06-30 Sources S016, S017, S018 |
| Operational properties | Not disclosedNot publicly disclosed / not verified Sources S016, S017, S018 |
| Advertising properties | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S016, S017, S018 |
| Active rental listings | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S016, S017, S018 |
| Units | Approximately 9.6MUnits under management on the property-management platform; not tenants · 2026-06-30 Sources S016, S017, S018 |
| Leases | Not disclosedNot verified as a separate numeric population Sources S016, S017, S018 |
| Residents / tenants | Not disclosedNot publicly disclosed / not verified; units are not converted to people Sources S016, S017, S018 |
A customer can manage many units. Unit and customer totals are dated June 2026 and do not represent distinct resident people.
Company history, value & funding
| Financial reference | Value and scope |
|---|---|
| Public company / parent market cap | $7.38BAppFolio corporate equity, not a separate product valuation · snapshot 2026-09-12 · not live Sources S002 |
| Historical transaction / valuation | Not establishedNo completed numeric historical valuation recorded Sources S002 |
| Disclosed financing | $30MApproximate historical pre-IPO private rounds; secondary reconstruction Undisclosed does not mean zero. Acquisition and IPO proceeds are not automatically venture funding. Sources S014, S015 |
| Reported exit target | Not recordedAn exit target is not a completed valuation |
- Founded year
- 2006
- Founding basis
- Company founding year
- Product launch year
- Not disclosed / not verified; see related status notes.
- Age years approx
- 20
- Age method
- 2026 minus founding year; approximate calendar-year age, not completed-anniversary age
- Investors
- IGSB; other historical investors not exhaustively verified
- Latest disclosed round (usd)
- $8,000,000
- Latest disclosed round date
- 2009-08
- Latest disclosed round type
- Historical private financing before public listing
- Funding confidence
- Medium; historical round reconstruction and contemporaneous reporting
- Funding warning
- Undisclosed does not mean zero. Acquisition and IPO proceeds are not automatically venture funding.
- Valuation warning
- Current equity market cap, historical deal value, funding and exit targets are not interchangeable.
Source trail & evidence limits
Historical online per-unit price lists were not treated as current prices. Portfolio fit and data-access features differ by tier. A customer can manage many units. Unit and customer totals are dated June 2026 and do not represent distinct resident people.
Inspect all 126 original CSV fields for this platform
Original field names and values are preserved. Blank cells are shown with their unknown-value policy; the downloadable CSV remains unchanged.
| Original field | Original value |
|---|---|
| project | TenantPlatform.com |
| research_as_of | 2026-09-14 |
| selection_order | 2 |
| platform_id | appfolio |
| platform | AppFolio Property Manager |
| corporate_group | AppFolio |
| ownership_status | Public company |
| category | Cloud property-management operating system |
| selection_basis | Major-platform editorial shortlist based on documented financial importance, operating scale, longevity and rental-workflow relevance; not a universal global top-ten ranking |
| geography | Primarily US-facing; international scope depends on product |
| website_url | https://www.appfolio.com/ |
| founded_year | 2006 |
| founding_basis | Company founding year |
| product_launch_year | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| age_years_approx | 20 |
| age_rank_oldest_first | 9 |
| age_method | 2026 minus founding year; approximate calendar-year age, not completed-anniversary age |
| currency | USD |
| publicly_traded_entity | AppFolio, Inc. |
| ticker | APPF |
| exchange | NASDAQ |
| public_market_cap_rank | 2 |
| public_market_cap_usd | 7380000000 |
| public_market_cap_scope | AppFolio corporate equity, not a separate product valuation |
| market_cap_source_snapshot | 2026-09-12 |
| market_cap_status | Delayed sourced public-company/parent snapshot; not live September 14 quote |
| historical_value_usd | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| historical_value_date | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| historical_value_type | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| historical_value_status | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| reported_exit_target_usd | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| reported_exit_target_date | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| reported_exit_target_status | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| valuation_warning | Current equity market cap, historical deal value, funding and exit targets are not interchangeable. |
| verified_vc_total_usd | 30000000 |
| disclosed_funding_sum_usd | 30000000 |
| funding_status | Approximate historical pre-IPO private rounds; secondary reconstruction |
| latest_disclosed_round_usd | 8000000 |
| latest_disclosed_round_date | 2009-08 |
| latest_disclosed_round_type | Historical private financing before public listing |
| investors | IGSB; other historical investors not exhaustively verified |
| funding_confidence | Medium; historical round reconstruction and contemporaneous reporting |
| funding_warning | Undisclosed does not mean zero. Acquisition and IPO proceeds are not automatically venture funding. |
| customers_count | 22751 |
| customers_operator | Exact reported count |
| customers_definition | Property-management customers |
| customers_as_of | 2026-06-30 |
| customer_count_status | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| operational_property_count | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| operational_property_operator | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| operational_property_definition | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| operational_property_as_of | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| operational_property_count_status | Not publicly disclosed / not verified |
| advertising_property_count | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| advertising_property_definition | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| advertising_property_as_of | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| active_rental_listings_count | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| active_rental_listings_definition | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| active_rental_listings_as_of | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| units_count | 9600000 |
| units_operator | Approximately |
| units_definition | Units under management on the property-management platform; not tenants |
| units_as_of | 2026-06-30 |
| units_evidence | Company earnings disclosure / filing |
| units_count_status | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| leases_count | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| leases_definition | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| leases_as_of | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| tenants_residents_count | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| tenants_residents_operator | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| tenants_residents_definition | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| tenants_residents_as_of | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| tenant_count_status | Not publicly disclosed / not verified; units are not converted to people |
| scale_comparability_note | A customer can manage many units. Unit and customer totals are dated June 2026 and do not represent distinct resident people. |
| overlap_note | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| website_available | Yes |
| web_app_available | Yes |
| ios_app_available | Yes |
| android_app_available | Yes |
| manager_mobile_access | AppFolio Property Manager native iOS app verified; browser application; separate resident mobile ecosystem |
| ios_app_names | AppFolio Property Manager; Online Portal by AppFolio |
| android_app_names | Online Portal by AppFolio (resident app verified) |
| resident_web_access | Online Portal by AppFolio |
| native_app_role_caveat | Android availability is directly verified for the resident portal; no unsupported claim of full manager-app feature parity. |
| features | Property accounting; reporting; marketing and leasing; payments; work orders; inspections; resident and owner communications; RealmX automation; tier-dependent APIs |
| property_discovery | Manager listings and marketing workflows, rather than a general consumer housing-search brand |
| typical_customer | Professional residential and mixed-portfolio property managers |
| pricing_verified_date | 2026-09-14 |
| pricing_model | Quote-based Core, Plus and Max plans |
| starting_monthly_usd | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| month_to_month_starting_usd | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| starting_per_unit_monthly_usd | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| starting_price_basis | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| minimum_units | 50 |
| minimum_monthly_usd | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| minimum_spend_note | Core has a 50-unit minimum and a minimum-spend condition; current dollar minimum not disclosed |
| pricing_tiers | Current dollar rates not publicly posted; Core, Plus and Max require a sales quote |
| screening_fee_usd | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| screening_fee_note | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| payment_fee_note | Payments, screening and other value-added services may have separate fees; obtain written quote |
| trial_note | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| contract_setup_note | Implementation, modules and contract terms require quote review |
| material_limitations | Historical online per-unit price lists were not treated as current prices. Portfolio fit and data-access features differ by tier. |
| data_quality_summary | Historical online per-unit price lists were not treated as current prices. Portfolio fit and data-access features differ by tier. A customer can manage many units. Unit and customer totals are dated June 2026 and do not represent distinct resident people. |
| description_p1 | AppFolio is a public software company founded in 2006 and focused on the operating needs of real-estate businesses. Its Property Manager product is a management system rather than primarily a consumer rental-search destination. The sourced September market-capitalization snapshot was approximately $7.38 billion for AppFolio as a company. That figure can be compared with other listed-company equity values, but it is not directly comparable with an acquisition price that includes debt or a private-company fundraising total. [S013, S002] |
| description_p2 | AppFolio reported 22,751 property-management customers and approximately 9.6 million units at June 30, 2026. These are separate operating measures: one customer may manage a large portfolio, while each unit can house more than one resident. Historical private financing is approximately $30 million from the disclosed pre-IPO rounds, including an $8 million financing reported in August 2009. The funding reconstruction is less authoritative than the recent operating disclosures, and neither the unit total nor website traffic is used to invent a tenant count. [S016, S017, S014, S015] |
| description_p3 | The platform connects accounting, reporting, marketing, leasing, payments, maintenance and communications in a common operating environment. Its current package structure also includes RealmX automation, with more advanced accounting, workflow and integration capabilities differentiated across tiers. This breadth makes it relevant to managers seeking fewer disconnected systems and a consistent operating record across a growing portfolio. However, the useful comparison is the exact package and services being purchased, because advanced APIs and specialized capabilities are not automatically included in every plan. [S019] |
| description_p4 | Customers use AppFolio through a browser, and a native AppFolio Property Manager application is verified on iOS. Residents have a separate Online Portal by AppFolio experience available on the web and through both iOS and Android applications. The resident portal supports rent payments, maintenance requests and document access, rather than exposing the manager’s complete accounting environment. This role separation is important when evaluating mobile coverage: the presence of a resident Android app does not by itself establish identical operator functionality across every device. [S020, S021] |
| description_p5 | Current Core, Plus and Max prices require a sales quote; the vendor no longer presents a reliable public dollar-per-unit schedule on the reviewed pricing page. Core specifies a 50-unit minimum and a minimum-spend condition, but the dollar minimum was not disclosed. Payment processing, screening, implementation and selected services should be checked in the actual proposal instead of assumed to be included. For a buyer, the practical cost comparison is the complete annual contract and expected transaction volume, not an old third-party entry price. [S019] |
| history_source_ids | S013 |
| valuation_source_ids | S002 |
| funding_source_ids | S014; S015 |
| scale_source_ids | S016; S017; S018 |
| features_source_ids | S019; S013 |
| apps_source_ids | S020; S021 |
| pricing_source_ids | S019 |
| risk_source_ids | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |
| all_source_ids | S013; S002; S014; S015; S016; S017; S018; S019; S020; S021 |
| history_source_urls | https://www.appfolio.com/company/who-we-are/ |
| valuation_source_urls | https://companiesmarketcap.com/appfolio/marketcap/ |
| funding_source_urls | https://www.owler.com/company/appfolio/funding | https://www.pacbiztimes.com/2009/08/18/appfolio-gains-8m-more-in-venture-capital/ |
| scale_source_urls | https://www.sec.gov/Archives/edgar/data/1433195/000143319526000058/appf-20260630.htm | https://www.marketbeat.com/earnings/reports/2026-7-23-appfolio-inc-stock/ | https://ir.appfolioinc.com/news-releases/news-release-details/appfolio-inc-announces-second-quarter-2026-financial-results |
| features_source_urls | https://www.appfolio.com/pricing | https://www.appfolio.com/company/who-we-are/ |
| apps_source_urls | https://apps.apple.com/us/app/appfolio-property-manager/id1057763031 | https://www.appfolio.com/help/online-portal |
| pricing_source_urls | https://www.appfolio.com/pricing |
| risk_source_urls | Not disclosed / not applicable / not verified |